Brow Lamination Course Coming Soon

The Different Phases of The Lash Growth Cycle

The Different Phases of The Lash Growth Cycle

The Different Phases of The Lash Growth Cycle

0 Comment Category:

Every type of hair in our body has a specific growth cycle, including even eyelashes. It’s important to be aware of the details of eyelash growth if you want to ensure healthy and beautiful lashes. Generally, we have around 150 to 200 lash hairs on the upper eyelids and around 75 to 100 lash hairs on the lower eyelids. Below is a quick look at the three stages of the eyelash growth cycle. You can ask your beautician to learn more about this when you go for your lash lift appointment.

The Anagen Phase

This is the first phase of lash growth, where the lash hairs are growing actively and the follicles are attached to the body’s blood supply. Usually, the anagen phase lasts for around 30 to 45 days. About 35% – 40% of the lash hairs on the upper eyelids and about 15% of the lash hairs on the lower eyelids will be in the anagen phase at any given time. After the active growth period, the lashes move on to the next phase.

The Catagen Phase

This is the second phase of lash growth, where the active growth of the lash hairs will have stopped. This stage is also called the transitional phase, where the hair follicles will start shrinking and prepare to shed the lashes. The catagen phase lasts for around 2 – 3 weeks. This phase should complete on its own to allow new lash growth. Therefore, if the eyelashes are pulled out during the catagen phase, the follicle stays empty until the end of the stage.

The Telogen Phase

This is the final phase of lash growth, also known as the resting phase. The telogen phase typically lasts for around 90 days or more, culminating in the release of the eyelashes. After this stage, there will be no visible eyelash remaining in its place and new lash hairs will start to grow. It may take around 1 – 2 months until the anagen phase begins again and the eyelashes start growing actively.

We do not see the aftermath of the telogen phase because our eyelashes are constantly in different stages of the growth cycle. Therefore, we always have eyelashes on our eyelids. Eyelashes are important not just for beauty, but also to keep dust and debris from harming your eyes. Eyelashes also help our reflexes trigger our eyelids to close quickly in case something brushes against the lash hairs, warning that something is very close to our eyes. If you’re intrigued by the nature of eyelashes and want to learn more, consider becoming an eyelash beautician.